WIP Wednesday: Fishes reappear

23 May

So, I got the brilliant idea to ask the new mama what fishy layout she liked. She’s going to be the one looking at it (and washing it…), so she should probably be the one with final say, don’t you think?

She voted for Layout 4, so that’s the one I went with.
Fishes in progress

Based on the rock star advice of some awesome ladies in my hive in the NuBees Monthly Block Swap, I sewed varying lengths of blue to each row to get them all to the same length. I’ve got the bottom four rows together in pairs, and that’s where I’m stopping for the night.I’m pretty happy with it so far – for a minute, I was a little concerned about sewing the rows directly to each other. I considered a thin spacer row between each fish row, but that plan was tossed out after I realized how much blue I have (not quite enough for my comfort, as it turns out). I think having the fish butted up against each other works (if you disagree, well….maybe don’t tell me, because I’m so not redoing it).

In other fun stuff, I discovered a fun pattern earlier this week when I was prowling blog land thanks to Sew Mama Sew’s Giveaway Day (so, so much fun!). It’s called the 1600 Quilt (the link that made me sit up and take notice, the actual pattern info). I decided to give it a try last night. Pretty easy, but I forgot one thing – you need a real jelly roll. I had a small jelly roll that I picked up at Tuesday Morning last December (for $4.99!!!). It turned out pretty well, but it turns out that if you only have 24 strips (instead of 40), you end up with a somewhat awkwardly long quilt top:

 Untitled

My husband and sister-in-law (who’s holding it in the picture above) both voted to keep it as it is and use it on the couch or as a picnic blanket. Eh, who am I to argue?

It took me about 2.5 hours to piece it, which I was pretty happy about.

What do you guys think – would you keep it long and lean like it is above, or would you add some other fabric to widen it? Or maybe cut it in half and make a square-ish baby quilt with matching-ish front and back? Or do you have other ideas? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

3 Responses to “WIP Wednesday: Fishes reappear”

  1. Diane Chambers May 24, 2012 at 12:01 am #

    Definitely butt them right up to each other. That is what attracted me to the image on the WIP site- the secondary design they formed and the colors, of course, which are awesome, too. And did you ever watch a school of fish swim? They certainly have no concept of personal space!

  2. basildonkitchens May 24, 2012 at 7:26 am #

    I love the “fishys”. That is going to be such a fun quilt. I have a similarily shapped quilt that I keep in the car for those impromptu picnics and if I get a bit chilly on a long trip. I love how it turned out and how quickly you put it together! Way to go! :)

  3. kate @ swimbikequilt May 24, 2012 at 10:34 am #

    such a great fish!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

